Plinky Post: Always Grab One on the Way Out

For whatever reason, I have a hard time making sure I have batteries with me when I leave the television station.

200707221253_CameramanGetsPapped
Television runs on power. Your TV set needs to be plugged in to operate. Stations must have back-up generators to keep a signal transmitting. My camera, microphone and light all run off batteries.

You don’t know how important they are until they run out or you forget to grab them in your hurry to get out the door. Ashamedly, I have left the station without a battery for my camera. When you miss an interview or get to a rapidly changing scene late because you had to turn around and go back, you learn real quick.

Also, it made me look like an idiot to the reporters I work with when I forget the most essential part of my kit.

It’s a lesson I’m still learning.

One thought on “Plinky Post: Always Grab One on the Way Out

Leave a Reply

