The Next 101

Since I’ve got about three months left on my first 101 Goals list, I’ve been working on the next 101. I might not have accomplished many goals on the first list, but I decided to continue with these lists because I like being goal driven. Regardless of what gets crossed off, or not, you still have a destination. Strangely, the fun comes from trying to reach that destination and not the actual goal.

I’ve learned a lot about myself over the last two and three-quarters years. I learned what goals are doable and which goals are beyond difficult. I’ve learned that I need serious work on my personal motivation. My work ethic when it pertains to my career is unparalleled. Transferring that over to my personal life is something I hope these new goals can help me with.

At 73, I’m stalled. I keep finding a few other things to put on the list. Ideally, I’d like to have over 101 goals so I can prune and weed out the less important ones.

These are in no particular order other than when I had the idea and wrote it down. I’m asking for suggestions or ideas. The new list starts August 26, 2011. (list after the jump)

New 101
Attend a workshop to better myself in my career.
Build a resume tape.
Own a copy of every story I’ve done that has aired (script and video/no vosots).
Get CPR and first aid certified.
Go a week without eating out.
Bake 3 pies from scratch.
Brew my own beer.
Cook my way through an entire cookbook.
Finish an entire coloring book.
Track my expenses for 1 week.
Start and finish a “365 pictures” project.
Purchase http://www.michaeloder.com.
Design a website for self-promotion.
Write, shoot, edit five (5) videos for my blog.
Put $25 into savings from each pay check.
Pay off my car.
Pay off my credit card.
Learn to tie a bow tie.
No beer or alcohol for 31 days.
Collect 25 quotes that inspire/give me strength.
Complete the collection of state quarters that my grandfather gave me.
Attend the midnight showing of the next Star Trek movie.
Take a MENSA test just for the hell of it.
Memorize two limericks.
Donate money back to the Mass Communications department at SHSU.
Get a physical every year.
Go on a date.
Drop 10 pounds.
Drop 20 pounds.
Have a 32 inch waist again (if possible).
Donate 1,000 grains of rice at http://www.freerice.com.
Complete one 26 Things project.
Post 10 videos to my YouTube account.
Write and get published an Op/Ed piece on a topic I feel strongly about.
Record one project for http://www.librivox.org.
Go to RenFest in period dress.
Make a list of “Rules” from things I’ve learned on the job (20 “rules”).
Score a bowling game by hand.
Score a college baseball game.
Submit something I have worked on for an Emmy.
Submit a story to the Texas Associated Press awards.
Submit a reporter tape to the Texas Associated Press awards.
Submit a story to the Lonestar Press Awards.
Submit a story for the Governor’s Barbara Jordan award.
Become an Emmy member.
Buy a professional grade video camera.
Increase my personal gear collection by 2 pieces a year.
Create a “One-Man-Band” bag (mics, cables, connectors, IFB, etc.)
Build my own jib/crane cam.
Create a “go” bag for emergencies.
Own a bicycle.
Vote in every election I am eligible for (municipal, state & federal).
Go camping once.
Find a creative use for my growing collection of fortune cookie fortunes.
55. Apply for a job in another city.
Visit the San Jacinto Monument.
Visit the Battleship Texas.
Visit the USS Lexington in Corpus Christie.
Visit all Presidential Libraries in Texas (0/3).
Attend a Sci-Fi convention.
Build a Home Theater PC and fill it with my DVDs, CDs, TV shows.
Take the Jeopardy Online Contestant Challenge.
Look into hiring an agent.
Go to the Caldwell Kolache Festival.
Go to Fair on the Square in Hunstville.
Attend a SHSU Homecoming event hosted by my major.
Go to Good Oil Days in Humble.
Interview a celebrity.
Interview an elected official.
Collect and organize all my online logins and passwords.
71. Get my blood pressure back to normal.
Learn one song on the guitar.
Learn one song on the piano.

Leave a Reply

