Remember that time I became an ordained minister?

Priesthood was never a life goal of mine. I never thought I’d “hear the word of the Lord” and go into ministry. That’s not to say that I’m agnostic, or atheist. Born and raised in the Methodist church, I’ve seen the things that can’t be explained except by faith.

Jen and Chad with their awesome officiant!

For five dollars my friend Jake had me ordained. Online. He and his (now-wife) Mindy asked me to officiate their wedding. It’s a huge honor and I said yes.

I married my best friend Jennifer and her (now-husband) Chad in Colorado a couple years back (May 2010). It was a great ceremony in the mountains and everyone danced and laughed and was merry. In Colorado, you don’t have to be an ordained minister.

Jake and Mindy, the happy couple.

For Jake and Mindy, I talked about love, dinosaurs and horror movies. I think it was a perfect fit. Everyone danced and laughed and was merry. The only difference this time was I could be called Reverend TV’s Michael Oder.

Reverend.

I could have gone with High Priest or Pastor. Reverend just felt right, ya know?

I’m glad my friends trust me enough to write and speak the words that bond them in marriage. A blessing on their houses…

A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person. -Germaine Greer

One thought on “Remember that time I became an ordained minister?

Leave a Reply

