Why Twitter Rocks (in pictures)

I love Twitter.

It’s simple, clean and efficient. You can spread information (right or wrong) to thousands of people in an instant. I tweet. A lot. Mostly, for my job. Reporters are increasingly being told to focus on social media first, then building for web and broadcast. Massive, confusing events like the Boston Marathon Bombings prove that we have a long way to go in perfecting social media.

The other (non-newsy) side of tweeting is making connections with people you know (or don’t) and celebrities (!!).

It’s no secret that I’m a huge sci-fi nerd. I wear it proudly, like a badge of honor. I’m a Trekkie at heart, but also have room for others. One story that I have a soft spot for is Starship Troopers. The book by Robert A. Heinlein is drastically different from the movies. That doesn’t stop me from loving them, or from following it’s leading actor, Casper Van Dien on twitter.

So when he followed me on Twitter, you can imagine my surprise.

CVD Tweet

My first reaction is “okay, someone at his PR firm is just following people back.” Which is why when I got a response, I didn’t automatically assume it was Casper Van Dien.

CVD response

I was, however, very excited and told my best friend Charlie (who also loves a cheesy sci-fi about killer bugs).

CVD freak out

Then, something crazy happened.

CVD owns his tweets

Casper. Van. Dien. Responded.
Personally.
To my tweet.

I don’t remember my exact response, but it probably involved me squealing like a little girl and jumping up and down. Charlie was pretty psyched, too.

CVD Charlie freaks

Being raised by two awesome parents who taught me respect, I thanked CVD for being awesome and totally making mine and Charlie’s day.

CVD awesome

To which he also responded.

Which is rad.

Lesson? Celebrities have hundreds of thousands (or millions) of followers. We follow to feel like we can relate to them, get a sense of what life might be like. Turns out, some of them sit on Twitter just like us. I was a fan of CVD’s work before, both sci-fi and not, but he’s made a fan for life simply by taking the time to interact. I don’t pester him everyday with requests to “tweet me back” or hang out and have a beer (although that would be awesome). He does good work and seems like a great guy. So, if you’re a fan of someone, follow them. Occasionally, let them know that they do good things that you enjoy watching (or reading).

You never know who might follow you back in the middle of the night.

Want to follow me? Head over to the Be Social page, where I list all the crazy platforms I try and keep up-to-date.

Leave a Reply

