Choose Your Own Adventure Roadtrip

It’s a simple idea, really. Pick three places, put them in envelopes and then choose.

Lauren, Breanne & I decided that Josh would love the idea. Breanne executed the lie perfectly (that they were surprising her parents at home). The three of us researched and packaged three different trips. Friday, after a long week and long day at work, Lauren & I show up at the door.

Josh was clueless. (That meant it worked)

We explained the idea of three blind trips. Josh had spent the last month opining about wanting the four of us to take a trip. Now, he had no idea where we going. The trip was happening. He looked at the three manilla envelopes and chose the one marked “2.”

We were headed to the Hill Country!

20130816_185749

We loaded our bags into Lauren’s rental car and took off. I’ve never been to New Braunfels before. It’s a cool little town that seems to have its own way of life. We spent most of our night at the Pour Haus; an almost entirely outdoor bar with swings instead of bar stools. Listened to some great music and made friends with a woman turning 50 – something. She gave us some phenomenal life advice that still circles my head.

Saturday was spent exploring. We visited Jacob’s Well first, near Dripping Springs. Mistakenly, we thought you had to take the tour to get to the well. That was not true, but we had already committed to the tour.
20130817_11033020130817_11051720130817_110224
Jacob’s Well is freezing cold. And awesome!

We dry off and grab some lunch. Chicken Salad sandwiches and beer in red solo cups. We’re the best pinicers. After lunch, we decide we want to check out Hamilton Pool.
20130817_150530 20130817_14584420130817_145906

We spent our afternoon there. I think it’s the closest place that matches what you find in Mexico (places like Xcarat). Breathtaking.

We head back to New Braunfels, sunned and completely relaxed, and check in to the haunted hotel. The Faust in NB is, like, legit haunted. The rooms, however, are small. Interior staterooms on cruise ships are mansions compared to these rooms.
20130817_184714
We shower, nap, and get ready to hit Gruene, TX! I’d never been to Gruene (pronounced “green”).
20130817_19523320130817_210806

It’s home to the famous Gruene Hall, where countless country recording artists got their start. We had dinner at the Grist Mill and walked the town square. Gruene is primarily a tourist attraction now, although people live there. Like New Braunfels, I can’t imagine what living there must be like when thousands of people invade on the weekends.

Saturday ends with us at a piano bar. We saw a couple get engaged, then make out with other people, some college guys take their shirts off and two bachelorette parties. It was a successful night.

Sunday meant SCHLITERBAHN-BAHN-BAHN. I don’t have any pictures from there because I didn’t have a waterproof case for my phone. This was another place that I’d never been. I can’t say that my life is any better after visiting the humongous water park, but I can say I have been there.

Traveling back to B/CS on Sunday was bittersweet. After having such a remarkably awesome weekend, none of us wanted to go back to work. We spent the trip back recounting the amazing moments of the weekend. Looking back on it, I realize I didn’t take nearly enough pictures. That’s both a good and bad thing.

One thought on “Choose Your Own Adventure Roadtrip

  1. Glad you enjoyed the Hill Country! NB is where I grew up… and it’s still “home” to me.

    I love the Poor Haus! My mom & I always go when I’m back in town… and man if you could have just told me I would have warned you about the Faust Hotel. That place is scary… lol.

    I also love this idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

