Eating Better

I have to eat better. Primarily because I’m not 19 anymore. At 27, I don’t really know how to cook for myself. I don’t really know what real food is. I spend most of my meal times in drive thru lanes. It takes a toll on your body. High blood pressure, high cholesterol, a sizeable gut. You find yourself not being able to catch your breath. It’s pretty awful.

So, I decided to make a change.

ItStartsWithFoodI have to thank L for getting me the book “It Starts With Food.” It outlines why the Whole 30 program is good for you. It’s not a plan of replacing bad meals with less bad meals. There are no shakes or meal replacements. I don’t have to buy any specially cooked and prepared food. I’m eating real food, cooked by me.

It’s sort of terrifying.

I’ve tried in the past to change the way I eat. They haven’t been successful. This time, I’ve got L to get me through it. Several other close friends have made similar changes to their diet and have been encouraging. Essentially, it was time. I don’t like the way I feel when I get up in the morning. I don’t like the way I look in the mirror. I don’t like  that my close don’t fit anymore. It is time to change all of that.

Plus, the recipes that L has collected look really delicious. I’ve promised him that I won’t cook the same thing over and over again. It’s only Day 2 and I’m tired of ground turkey and sweet potatoes. I’m a novice in the kitchen, if I don’t like eating something, I’ll just have to figure out a new dish to make.

Here’s to 28 more days!

20140121_175531

2 thoughts on “Eating Better

Leave a Reply

