Groceries Stores, dude.

20140130_171225The grocery store never frightened me. In fact, growing up, the grocery store usually meant I got candy. My favorite part is picking the one treat at the register; a reward for your hard work picking the food things you think you can cook and eat. I never bought groceries. I never planned meals. Hell, in college, I had an awesome roommate that cooked and knew what to buy. I was more than happy to fund the trip.

Whole 30 requires a different outlook on the grocery store.

I’m not complaining, really. Although, actually going to the store to find food to cook and eat is an experience best done at 5 p.m. on a weekday. The hardest part for me has been planning out meals. Who knows where the day will take me? I could be working all day, get sent on assignment out-of-town or crave Pei Wei. Once you have a meal plan, trips to the grocery store are simple.

20140127_174833

Now, avoiding all the ridiculous stuff is still a chore. I think I’m learning to like going to the store? It’s a weird feeling. A warm familiarity takes me over when I walk through the doors, pushing a jank cart. Whole 30 raised my awareness of how much over-processed, sugar’d up food exists. Don’t get me wrong, I still desperately want to gorge on all of it. Self-control is son-of-a-bitch.

20140130_173853P.S. – When did Capri Suns get so awesome looking? It’s like juice from the future.

Leave a Reply

