Thanksgiving in Nola

image

New Orleans is almost the halfway point between Houston and Birmingham. That means I’ll probably spend a lot more time there than I ever have before! My best friend Josh and his family drove over after Thanksgiving and I drove down to met them. Josh and I have been to New Orleans many times: my brother’s 21st birthday, his bachelor party, St. Patrick’s Day. There’s always something to do in New Orleans.

image

This trip, we went to the Mardi Gras float factory. It was pretty awesome! They make all the floats, store them and do work for theme parks and hotels. The company also does the Chick-fil-A cows. They didn’t have any cows when we were there (bummer), but the scale of things they did have was amazing.

image

image

image

Most of the creations are Styrofoam sheets glued together and sculpted by hand. Then they cover them in paper mache and paint!

image

It was really great getting to see Josh, Breanne and his mom, dad and brother. I couldn’t get all the way back home for Thanksgiving, so it was great to spend some time with people I consider family.

Leave a Reply

